Loading Events


October 21, 2022 @ 7:30pm

Akron Public Library
60 South High St, Akron, OH

Les Délices’ acclaimed concert Winds of Change leaps from the screen to the stage this October featuring virtuoso flutist Emi Ferguson.

Inspired by the philosophies that sparked the French and Haitian Revolutions at the end of the 18th century, Winds of Change pairs Classical Era works by Joseph Bologne Chevalier de St. Georges and Luigi Boccherini with Haitian composer Sydney Guillaume’s commission A Journey to Freedom. Guest choirs will enhance our performances on Friday and Saturday nights performing Guillaume’s uplifting choral works This Too Shall Pass, Ranpono, and Tchaka

A pre-concert conversation with Debra Nagy and composer Sydney Guillaume will begin at 6:45 pm in the performance space. 


Event Details

Single Tickets $45/$28/$10 Student

Sustainer Subscriptions ($200) include A-Section seating at all four-concert series PLUS a ticket for The Highland Lassie that will be issued separately. Please call the Box Office with any questions (216) 302-8404.

Basic Subscriptions ($125) includes B-Section seating at all four-concert series but does not include The Highland Lassie.

Full Program

Sydney Guillaume: This, Too, Shall Pass

Joseph Bologne, Chevalier de St. Georges, arr. Nagy: Quartet for flute and strings (after Sonata for flute and harp in Eb)

Guillaume: A Journey to Freedom (Live Performance Premiere) Commissioned by Les Délices

Bologne, arr. Nagy: Quartet for oboe and strings

Luigi Boccherini: Quintet for flute, oboe, violin, viola, and cello in C major, G443

Guillaume: Tchaka


Emi Ferguson, flute
Debra Nagy, oboe
Shelby Yamin, violin
Allison Monroe, viola
Rebecca Reed, cello
Sydney Guillaume, composer & conductor

Cleveland School for the Arts Concert Choir; Robert McCorvey, director
Firestone High School Concert Choir; Megan Meyer, director
Kent State University Chorale, Scott Macpherson director